Instant Funding vs Topstep
Two prop firms, one table. Everything below is taken from what each one publishes on its own site, last read on 2026-09-05. No scores, no ranking.

Instant, one-phase and micro programmes from $625 to $4M, established in the UK in 2021.

Futures-focused funding with a well known evaluation.
| Detail | Instant Funding | Topstep |
|---|---|---|
| Challenge Type | Instant Funding · IF1 · One-Phase · One-Phase Micro · IF Micro · IF Evolve · Clarity | 1-Step |
| Profit Split | 80%, upgradeable to 90% | Up to 100% |
| Max Daily Loss | One-Phase 5% · IF1 2% · Micro 4% · Instant: none (overall limit only) | — |
| Max Overall Loss | Instant 10%, falling to 5% after 5% profit · One-Phase 10% · IF1 4% · IF Micro 6% · Evolve 4% EOD trailing | — |
| News Trading | Generally allowed; restricted on some products, add-on available | — |
| Weekend Holding | Add-on required on most programmes | — |
| Payout Time | On demand, weekly or every 14 days by product; first payout 14 days after the first trade on most | — |
| Scaling Plan | Instant account doubles at 10% profit; challenges grow 25% every 90 days | — |
| Payment Methods | Crypto, bank transfer (Rise) | Card |
| Founded | 2021 | 2012 |
| Headquarters | United Kingdom | — |
| Countries | — | 120+ |
What the figures say
- Profit Split: Instant Funding lists 80%, upgradeable to 90%; Topstep lists Up to 100%.
- Instant Funding publishes its max daily loss (One-Phase 5% · IF1 2% · Micro 4% · Instant: none (overall limit only)); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Instant Funding publishes its max overall loss (Instant 10%, falling to 5% after 5% profit · One-Phase 10% · IF1 4% · IF Micro 6% · Evolve 4% EOD trailing); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Instant Funding publishes its news trading (Generally allowed; restricted on some products, add-on available); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Instant Funding publishes its weekend holding (Add-on required on most programmes); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Instant Funding publishes its payout time (On demand, weekly or every 14 days by product; first payout 14 days after the first trade on most); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Instant Funding publishes its scaling plan (Instant account doubles at 10% profit; challenges grow 25% every 90 days); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Payment Methods: Instant Funding lists Crypto, bank transfer (Rise); Topstep lists Card.
- Instant Funding also lists Forex, Crypto.
- Topstep also lists Futures.
A figure marked “—” is one that prop firm does not publish on the pages we could read; it is not a zero. Terms differ by country and change often, so confirm on each site before opening an account.
Instant Funding: why traders choose it
- Seven programmes, from a no-evaluation Instant account to a 24-hour IF1 and micro sizes
- Account sizes from $625 to $4,000,000
- One-Phase: 10% then 5% targets, 5% daily loss, 10% overall loss
- Instant Funding: no daily limit, a 10% overall limit that tightens to 5% once you are 5% up
- 80% split, upgradeable to 90%; the Instant account doubles at 10% profit
- Established in the UK in 2021; $20 million-plus paid out since 2023 by their own count
Topstep: why traders choose it
- Futures specialist rather than a forex firm branching out
- Trading since 2012, among the oldest in the sector
- Single-step evaluation with clearly published targets
- Well documented rules with worked examples
- Established payout process with a long record
Instant Funding pros
- A genuine instant-funding route for traders who do not want an evaluation
- Micro programmes for very small budgets
- Rules per programme are published in a comparison table
Instant Funding cons
- Weekend holding needs a paid add-on on most programmes
- First payout on most accounts waits 14 days after the first trade
- Seven programmes with different limits take some reading
Topstep pros
- Deep specialism in futures
- Long operating history
- One-step evaluation is simple to follow
- Excellent educational material
Topstep cons
- Futures only, no spot forex
- Monthly subscription rather than a one-time fee
- Daily loss limits are strict
- Less useful if you trade currencies
About Instant Funding
Instant Funding, established in the UK in 2021, runs seven programmes from a no-evaluation Instant account to one-phase challenges and micro sizes, on capital from $625 to $4,000,000. The split is 80%, upgradeable to 90%, and platforms are MetaTrader 5, cTrader and Match-Trader.
About Topstep
Topstep is a futures firm. If you trade currencies it is the wrong door; if you trade index or commodity futures it is one of the most established options available.
More comparisons
How this page is put together. Both columns use the same fields as the individual reviews, read from each prop firm's own site. Some links are affiliate links, which may earn Cubie FX a commission at no extra cost to you. Placement is not for sale and nothing here is ranked.