GOAT Funded Trader vs Topstep
Two prop firms, one table. Everything below is taken from what each one publishes on its own site, last read on 2026-09-05. No scores, no ranking.

Up to a 100% profit split, payouts within 24 hours and scaling to $2M, with news trading allowed.

Futures-focused funding with a well known evaluation.
| Detail | GOAT Funded Trader | Topstep |
|---|---|---|
| Challenge Type | 1 Step · 2 Step · Instant · Goat Blitz | 1-Step |
| Profit Split | Up to 100% | Up to 100% |
| Max Daily Loss | 4% (model shown) | — |
| Max Overall Loss | 6% (model shown) | — |
| News Trading | Allowed | — |
| Weekend Holding | Allowed | — |
| Payout Time | Within 24 hours on demand; 2 business days under the reward guarantee | — |
| Scaling Plan | To $2M | — |
| Payment Methods | Visa, Mastercard, American Express, PayPal, Bitcoin, Skrill, Rise | Card |
| Founded | — | 2012 |
| Headquarters | Hong Kong (registered); Saint Lucia office | — |
| Countries | — | 120+ |
Which one fits which trader
Each row below is decided by a figure both prop firms publish. Where only one publishes it, or neither does, the row is left out rather than guessed.
| If this matters most | The published figures point to |
|---|---|
| Largest share of the profit | Both — no difference here GOAT Funded Trader publishes Up to 100%; Topstep publishes Up to 100%. |
What the figures say
- Challenge Type: GOAT Funded Trader lists 1 Step · 2 Step · Instant · Goat Blitz; Topstep lists 1-Step.
- Both list the same profit split: Up to 100%.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its max daily loss (4% (model shown)); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its max overall loss (6% (model shown)); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its news trading (Allowed); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its weekend holding (Allowed); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its payout time (Within 24 hours on demand; 2 business days under the reward guarantee); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its scaling plan (To $2M); Topstep does not state one on the pages we read.
- Payment Methods: GOAT Funded Trader lists Visa, Mastercard, American Express, PayPal, Bitcoin, Skrill, Rise; Topstep lists Card.
- GOAT Funded Trader also lists Forex, Crypto.
- Topstep also lists Futures.
A figure marked “—” is one that prop firm does not publish on the pages we could read; it is not a zero. Terms differ by country and change often, so confirm on each site before opening an account.
GOAT Funded Trader: why traders choose it
- Account sizes from $2.5K to $400K, scaling to $2M
- Up to a 100% profit split
- Payouts within 24 hours on demand, or 2 business days under the reward guarantee
- News trading and weekend holding allowed
- Seven payment methods including PayPal, cards, Bitcoin and Skrill
- MT5, MT4, TradeLocker, cTrader and Volumetric
Topstep: why traders choose it
- Futures specialist rather than a forex firm branching out
- Trading since 2012, among the oldest in the sector
- Single-step evaluation with clearly published targets
- Well documented rules with worked examples
- Established payout process with a long record
GOAT Funded Trader pros
- One of the fastest stated payout windows in the industry
- PayPal and card payments, which many firms do not take
- Permissive rules on news and weekends
GOAT Funded Trader cons
- The 4% daily and 6% overall limits on the model shown are tight for a 10% target
- The headline price is a promotion; the list price for $100K is $438
- Registered in Hong Kong with a Saint Lucia office, so no onshore regulator
Topstep pros
- Deep specialism in futures
- Long operating history
- One-step evaluation is simple to follow
- Excellent educational material
Topstep cons
- Futures only, no spot forex
- Monthly subscription rather than a one-time fee
- Daily loss limits are strict
- Less useful if you trade currencies
About GOAT Funded Trader
GOAT Funded Trader offers 1 step, 2 step, instant and Goat Blitz models on accounts from $2.5K to $400K that scale to $2M. It advertises a profit split of up to 100%, payouts within 24 hours, news trading, weekend holding and seven payment methods including PayPal.
About Topstep
Topstep is a futures firm. If you trade currencies it is the wrong door; if you trade index or commodity futures it is one of the most established options available.
GOAT Funded Trader vs Topstep: common questions
- Does GOAT Funded Trader or Topstep pay a bigger profit split?
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes Up to 100% and Topstep publishes Up to 100%. A split only matters once you are funded and have a payout to take, so read it after the rules, not before.
- What do GOAT Funded Trader and Topstep charge for a challenge?
- GOAT Funded Trader starts at $100K account $438 (shown at $263 in promotion); Topstep starts at $49. Both are entry prices for the smallest account each firm sells, and a reset or a second attempt is charged again.
- How do GOAT Funded Trader and Topstep pay you?
- GOAT Funded Trader lists Visa, Mastercard, American Express, PayPal, Bitcoin, Skrill, Rise. Topstep lists Card. Check that at least one works from your country before paying for a challenge.
More comparisons
How this page is put together. Both columns use the same fields as the individual reviews, read from each prop firm's own site. Some links are affiliate links, which may earn Cubie FX a commission at no extra cost to you. Placement is not for sale and nothing here is ranked.