Blue Guardian vs FTMO
Two prop firms, one table. Everything below is taken from what each one publishes on its own site, last read on 2026-09-05. No scores, no ranking.

CFD and futures plans from $5K to $400K with instant payouts on the Instant plan and 7-day payouts elsewhere.

One of the longest running proprietary trading firms.
| Detail | Blue Guardian | FTMO |
|---|---|---|
| Challenge Type | Instant · 1 Step Standard · 1 Step Nano · 2 Step Standard · 2 Step Nano · Futures plans | 2-Step |
| Profit Split | Up to 90%; 100% on select plans | Up to 90% |
| Max Daily Loss | — | 5% |
| Max Overall Loss | — | 10% |
| News Trading | Not allowed on the Instant plan | — |
| Weekend Holding | Allowed | — |
| Payout Time | Instant plan: instant · 1 and 2 Step: 7 days · Futures Express: every business day | 1-2 days |
| Scaling Plan | — | Up to $2M |
| Payment Methods | Rise, crypto | Card, Bank transfer, Crypto |
| Founded | — | 2015 |
| Headquarters | Saint Lucia (registered); Dubai, UAE (operations) | — |
| Countries | — | 180+ |
What the figures say
- Profit Split: Blue Guardian lists Up to 90%; 100% on select plans; FTMO lists Up to 90%.
- FTMO publishes its max daily loss (5%); Blue Guardian does not state one on the pages we read.
- FTMO publishes its max overall loss (10%); Blue Guardian does not state one on the pages we read.
- Blue Guardian publishes its news trading (Not allowed on the Instant plan); FTMO does not state one on the pages we read.
- Blue Guardian publishes its weekend holding (Allowed); FTMO does not state one on the pages we read.
- FTMO publishes its scaling plan (Up to $2M); Blue Guardian does not state one on the pages we read.
- Payment Methods: Blue Guardian lists Rise, crypto; FTMO lists Card, Bank transfer, Crypto.
- Blue Guardian also lists Futures.
A figure marked “—” is one that prop firm does not publish on the pages we could read; it is not a zero. Terms differ by country and change often, so confirm on each site before opening an account.
Blue Guardian: why traders choose it
- Five CFD plans and four futures plans, from $5K to $400K
- Prices from $54 for $5K to $1,650 for $400K, printed on the home page
- Instant payouts on the Instant plan, 7-day payouts on 1 and 2 Step
- Futures Express plan pays every business day, processed in under an hour
- Profit split up to 90%, with 100% on selected plans
- Seven platforms across CFDs and futures, including TradingView
FTMO: why traders choose it
- Running since 2015, one of the longest records in the industry
- Free trial account before you pay for a challenge
- Detailed performance analytics built into the client area
- Payouts on a fixed schedule with a long public history
- Swing accounts available for holding through news and weekends
Blue Guardian pros
- Covers both CFDs and futures under one roof with platforms for each
- Every price is on the home page
- Weekend holding allowed
Blue Guardian cons
- No news trading on the Instant plan, and drawdown on that plan is a trailing figure
- Payment is by Rise or crypto only
- Profit targets are not on the home page; they are in each plan's rules
FTMO pros
- Long, verifiable payout history
- Strong trading platform and analytics
- Clear documentation of every rule
- Free trial before committing
FTMO cons
- Two-step evaluation takes longer than instant funding
- News trading restricted on standard accounts
- Priced in euros, so the cost moves with the exchange rate
- Stricter consistency expectations than newer firms
About Blue Guardian
Blue Guardian runs Instant, 1 Step and 2 Step CFD plans in Standard and Nano sizes, plus four futures plans, from $5K to $400K. Prices run from $54 to $1,650, the split reaches 90% or 100% on select plans, and payouts are instant on the Instant plan and every 7 days on the others.
About FTMO
FTMO is the firm most traders have heard of first. It runs a two-step evaluation, pays on a fixed fortnightly schedule, and has been doing so since 2015 — which is the main reason people choose it over cheaper alternatives.
More comparisons
How this page is put together. Both columns use the same fields as the individual reviews, read from each prop firm's own site. Some links are affiliate links, which may earn Cubie FX a commission at no extra cost to you. Placement is not for sale and nothing here is ranked.