FTMO vs GOAT Funded Trader
Two prop firms, one table. Everything below is taken from what each one publishes on its own site, last read on 2026-09-05. No scores, no ranking.

One of the longest running proprietary trading firms.

Up to a 100% profit split, payouts within 24 hours and scaling to $2M, with news trading allowed.
| Detail | FTMO | GOAT Funded Trader |
|---|---|---|
| Challenge Type | 2-Step | 1 Step · 2 Step · Instant · Goat Blitz |
| Profit Split | Up to 90% | Up to 100% |
| Max Daily Loss | 5% | 4% (model shown) |
| Max Overall Loss | 10% | 6% (model shown) |
| News Trading | — | Allowed |
| Weekend Holding | — | Allowed |
| Payout Time | 1-2 days | Within 24 hours on demand; 2 business days under the reward guarantee |
| Scaling Plan | Up to $2M | To $2M |
| Payment Methods | Card, Bank transfer, Crypto | Visa, Mastercard, American Express, PayPal, Bitcoin, Skrill, Rise |
| Founded | 2015 | — |
| Headquarters | — | Hong Kong (registered); Saint Lucia office |
| Countries | 180+ | — |
What the figures say
- Challenge Type: FTMO lists 2-Step; GOAT Funded Trader lists 1 Step · 2 Step · Instant · Goat Blitz.
- Profit Split: FTMO lists Up to 90%; GOAT Funded Trader lists Up to 100%.
- Max Daily Loss: FTMO lists 5%; GOAT Funded Trader lists 4% (model shown).
- Max Overall Loss: FTMO lists 10%; GOAT Funded Trader lists 6% (model shown).
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its news trading (Allowed); FTMO does not state one on the pages we read.
- GOAT Funded Trader publishes its weekend holding (Allowed); FTMO does not state one on the pages we read.
- Payout Time: FTMO lists 1-2 days; GOAT Funded Trader lists Within 24 hours on demand; 2 business days under the reward guarantee.
- Scaling Plan: FTMO lists Up to $2M; GOAT Funded Trader lists To $2M.
- Payment Methods: FTMO lists Card, Bank transfer, Crypto; GOAT Funded Trader lists Visa, Mastercard, American Express, PayPal, Bitcoin, Skrill, Rise.
A figure marked “—” is one that prop firm does not publish on the pages we could read; it is not a zero. Terms differ by country and change often, so confirm on each site before opening an account.
FTMO: why traders choose it
- Running since 2015, one of the longest records in the industry
- Free trial account before you pay for a challenge
- Detailed performance analytics built into the client area
- Payouts on a fixed schedule with a long public history
- Swing accounts available for holding through news and weekends
GOAT Funded Trader: why traders choose it
- Account sizes from $2.5K to $400K, scaling to $2M
- Up to a 100% profit split
- Payouts within 24 hours on demand, or 2 business days under the reward guarantee
- News trading and weekend holding allowed
- Seven payment methods including PayPal, cards, Bitcoin and Skrill
- MT5, MT4, TradeLocker, cTrader and Volumetric
FTMO pros
- Long, verifiable payout history
- Strong trading platform and analytics
- Clear documentation of every rule
- Free trial before committing
FTMO cons
- Two-step evaluation takes longer than instant funding
- News trading restricted on standard accounts
- Priced in euros, so the cost moves with the exchange rate
- Stricter consistency expectations than newer firms
GOAT Funded Trader pros
- One of the fastest stated payout windows in the industry
- PayPal and card payments, which many firms do not take
- Permissive rules on news and weekends
GOAT Funded Trader cons
- The 4% daily and 6% overall limits on the model shown are tight for a 10% target
- The headline price is a promotion; the list price for $100K is $438
- Registered in Hong Kong with a Saint Lucia office, so no onshore regulator
About FTMO
FTMO is the firm most traders have heard of first. It runs a two-step evaluation, pays on a fixed fortnightly schedule, and has been doing so since 2015 — which is the main reason people choose it over cheaper alternatives.
About GOAT Funded Trader
GOAT Funded Trader offers 1 step, 2 step, instant and Goat Blitz models on accounts from $2.5K to $400K that scale to $2M. It advertises a profit split of up to 100%, payouts within 24 hours, news trading, weekend holding and seven payment methods including PayPal.
More comparisons
How this page is put together. Both columns use the same fields as the individual reviews, read from each prop firm's own site. Some links are affiliate links, which may earn Cubie FX a commission at no extra cost to you. Placement is not for sale and nothing here is ranked.