AvaTrade vs HFM

Two brokers, one table. Everything below is taken from what each one publishes on its own site, last read on 2026-09-05. No scores, no ranking.

AvaTrade

A broker founded in 2006 and regulated in Ireland, Australia, Japan, South Africa, the BVI and the UAE.

ForexIndicesCommoditiesStocksCryptoOptions
Read the AvaTrade review
HFM

Cent, Zero, Pro and Premium accounts from a $0 minimum, with leverage to 1:2000.

ForexMetalsEnergiesIndicesStocksCommoditiesBondsETFsCrypto
Read the HFM review
,
DetailAvaTradeHFM
RegulationAVA Trade EU Ltd, Central Bank of Ireland C53877 · Ava Capital Markets Australia, ASIC 406684 · Ava Trade Japan K.K., FSA Japan 1662 · Ava Capital Markets Pty, FSCA 45984 · Ava Trade Markets Ltd, BVI FSC SIBA/L/13/1049HF Markets (UK) Ltd, FCA 801701 · HF Markets (SV) Ltd, St Vincent & the Grenadines 22747 IBC 2015 · HF Markets SA (PTY) Ltd, South Africa · HF Markets (Seychelles) Ltd
Minimum Deposit—$0 (Cent, Zero, Premium) · $100 (Pro) · $250 (InfinityX)
Max Leverage—1:2000 (Cent, Zero, Pro, Premium) · Unlimited (InfinityX)
Spread From—Zero from 0 on forex · Pro from 0.6 pip · Cent and Premium from 1.4 pip · InfinityX from 0.303 pip
Commission—Zero: commission on forex pairs · others: none
PlatformsAvaTrade App, WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, AvaSocial, automated trading platformsMetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, HFM WebTrader, HFM App, HFM Platform
Account Types—InfinityX, Cent, Zero, Pro, Premium
Founded2006—
HeadquartersDublin, Ireland—

Which one fits which trader

Each row below is decided by a figure both brokers publish. Where only one publishes it, or neither does, the row is left out rather than guessed.

If this matters mostThe published figures point to
Most platform choice AvaTrade
AvaTrade lists 6 (AvaTrade App, WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, AvaSocial, automated trading platforms); HFM lists 5 (MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, HFM WebTrader, HFM App, HFM Platform).

What the figures say

  • HFM publishes its minimum deposit ($0 (Cent, Zero, Premium) · $100 (Pro) · $250 (InfinityX)); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • HFM publishes its max leverage (1:2000 (Cent, Zero, Pro, Premium) · Unlimited (InfinityX)); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • HFM publishes its spread from (Zero from 0 on forex · Pro from 0.6 pip · Cent and Premium from 1.4 pip · InfinityX from 0.303 pip); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • HFM publishes its commission (Zero: commission on forex pairs · others: none); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • HFM publishes its account types (InfinityX, Cent, Zero, Pro, Premium); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • AvaTrade also lists Options.
  • HFM also lists Metals, Energies, Bonds, ETFs.

A figure marked “—” is one that broker does not publish on the pages we could read; it is not a zero. Terms differ by country and change often, so confirm on each site before opening an account.

AvaTrade: why traders choose it

  • Founded in 2006, one of the earliest online forex brokers still operating
  • Regulated in the EU, Australia, Japan, South Africa, the UAE and the British Virgin Islands, with licence numbers published
  • Client funds held in segregated accounts
  • AvaSocial copy-trading app alongside MT4, MT5, WebTrader and the AvaTrade App
  • AvaProtect, their paid protection against a losing trade for a set period
  • FX options as well as CFDs

HFM: why traders choose it

  • Three of the five accounts open with a $0 minimum
  • Zero account: spreads from 0 on forex with a per-pair commission, leverage to 1:2000
  • Pro account: spreads from 0.6 pip, no commission, from $100
  • Cent account trades in 1,000-unit lots with balances in US cents
  • Margin call 50% and stop-out 20% on the main accounts; 60 standard lots per position
  • Same five platforms on every account, including HFM's own WebTrader and app

AvaTrade pros

  • More top-tier licences than almost any broker on this list, including the Central Bank of Ireland and Japan's FSA
  • Twenty years of operating history
  • Automated trading and EA support across several platforms

AvaTrade cons

  • Minimum deposit, spreads and leverage are not on the pages we read; they depend on the entity that onboards you
  • Products and leverage differ a great deal between the EU, Japanese and BVI entities
  • A richer platform list also means more to learn

HFM pros

  • The comparison table is complete: minimums, spreads, leverage, stop-out and lot limits for every account on one page
  • A cent account and a $0 minimum make it easy to start very small
  • The UK company's FCA number is printed in the footer next to the offshore entities

HFM cons

  • The international site serves clients through the St Vincent, South African and Seychelles companies, not the FCA one
  • Not offered to residents of the USA, Canada, UAE, Türkiye and several other countries
  • The InfinityX account's unlimited leverage comes with a 20% margin call and 0% stop-out, which is a very short leash

About AvaTrade

AvaTrade was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Dublin. It is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland, ASIC, Japan's FSA, South Africa's FSCA and the BVI FSC, and offers CFDs and FX options on its own app, WebTrader, MetaTrader 4 and 5 and the AvaSocial copy-trading app.

About HFM

HFM (HF Markets) publishes one comparison table for its InfinityX, Cent, Zero, Pro and Premium accounts. Three open from $0, leverage reaches 1:2000 on the main accounts and is described as unlimited on InfinityX, and every account runs on MT4, MT5, HFM's WebTrader, app and platform.

AvaTrade vs HFM: common questions

Are AvaTrade and HFM regulated?
AvaTrade lists AVA Trade EU Ltd, Central Bank of Ireland C53877 · Ava Capital Markets Australia, ASIC 406684 · Ava Trade Japan K.K., FSA Japan 1662 · Ava Capital Markets Pty, FSCA 45984 · Ava Trade Markets Ltd, BVI FSC SIBA/L/13/1049. HFM lists HF Markets (UK) Ltd, FCA 801701 · HF Markets (SV) Ltd, St Vincent & the Grenadines 22747 IBC 2015 · HF Markets SA (PTY) Ltd, South Africa · HF Markets (Seychelles) Ltd. Both name a licence, but a licence is not a guarantee, and protections differ a great deal between regulators.
Can I use the same platform on AvaTrade and HFM?
AvaTrade supports AvaTrade App, WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, AvaSocial, automated trading platforms. HFM supports MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, HFM WebTrader, HFM App, HFM Platform. If you already trade on one of these, that usually settles the choice faster than any cost figure.

More comparisons

Pick any two brokers

How this page is put together. Both columns use the same fields as the individual reviews, read from each broker's own site. Some links are affiliate links, which may earn Cubie FX a commission at no extra cost to you. Placement is not for sale and nothing here is ranked.