AvaTrade vs FP Markets

Two brokers, one table. Everything below is taken from what each one publishes on its own site, last read on 2026-09-05. No scores, no ranking.

AvaTrade

A broker founded in 2006 and regulated in Ireland, Australia, Japan, South Africa, the BVI and the UAE.

ForexIndicesCommoditiesStocksCryptoOptions
Read the AvaTrade review
FP Markets

Standard and Raw accounts from $100 with leverage to 1:500 and ECN pricing on both.

ForexMetalsIndicesCommoditiesStocksBondsCrypto
Read the FP Markets review
,
DetailAvaTradeFP Markets
RegulationAVA Trade EU Ltd, Central Bank of Ireland C53877 · Ava Capital Markets Australia, ASIC 406684 · Ava Trade Japan K.K., FSA Japan 1662 · Ava Capital Markets Pty, FSCA 45984 · Ava Trade Markets Ltd, BVI FSC SIBA/L/13/1049
Minimum DepositUS$100 or equivalent
Max Leverage1:500
Spread FromStandard from 1.0 pips · Raw from 0.0 pips
CommissionStandard: zero · Raw: US$3 per lot per side
PlatformsAvaTrade App, WebTrader, MetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, AvaSocial, automated trading platformsMetaTrader 4, MetaTrader 5, cTrader, TradingView (Raw)
Account TypesStandard, Raw
Founded2006
HeadquartersDublin, Ireland

What the figures say

  • AvaTrade publishes its regulation (AVA Trade EU Ltd, Central Bank of Ireland C53877 · Ava Capital Markets Australia, ASIC 406684 · Ava Trade Japan K.K., FSA Japan 1662 · Ava Capital Markets Pty, FSCA 45984 · Ava Trade Markets Ltd, BVI FSC SIBA/L/13/1049); FP Markets does not state one on the pages we read.
  • FP Markets publishes its minimum deposit (US$100 or equivalent); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • FP Markets publishes its max leverage (1:500); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • FP Markets publishes its spread from (Standard from 1.0 pips · Raw from 0.0 pips); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • FP Markets publishes its commission (Standard: zero · Raw: US$3 per lot per side); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • FP Markets publishes its account types (Standard, Raw); AvaTrade does not state one on the pages we read.
  • AvaTrade also lists Options.
  • FP Markets also lists Metals, Bonds.

A figure marked “—” is one that broker does not publish on the pages we could read; it is not a zero. Terms differ by country and change often, so confirm on each site before opening an account.

AvaTrade: why traders choose it

  • Founded in 2006, one of the earliest online forex brokers still operating
  • Regulated in the EU, Australia, Japan, South Africa, the UAE and the British Virgin Islands, with licence numbers published
  • Client funds held in segregated accounts
  • AvaSocial copy-trading app alongside MT4, MT5, WebTrader and the AvaTrade App
  • AvaProtect, their paid protection against a losing trade for a set period
  • FX options as well as CFDs

FP Markets: why traders choose it

  • Two accounts, both from US$100 and both on ECN pricing
  • Raw account: spreads from 0.0 pips plus US$3 per lot each way
  • Standard account: spreads from 1.0 pips and no commission
  • Leverage up to 1:500 on both accounts, jurisdiction permitting
  • TradingView is available on the Raw account, alongside MT4, MT5 and cTrader
  • EAs, a mobile app and a VPS are listed for both accounts; minimum trade 0.01 lot

AvaTrade pros

  • More top-tier licences than almost any broker on this list, including the Central Bank of Ireland and Japan's FSA
  • Twenty years of operating history
  • Automated trading and EA support across several platforms

AvaTrade cons

  • Minimum deposit, spreads and leverage are not on the pages we read; they depend on the entity that onboards you
  • Products and leverage differ a great deal between the EU, Japanese and BVI entities
  • A richer platform list also means more to learn

FP Markets pros

  • The whole offer fits in one table on their site: two accounts, one minimum, clear costs
  • US$3 per side is at the low end for a raw account
  • Stocks and bonds are on the Raw account, not just forex and metals

FP Markets cons

  • 1:500 depends on your jurisdiction; the ASIC and CySEC entities are capped far lower
  • The Standard account does not include stocks or bonds
  • The page we read did not name the regulator for the entity serving Bangladesh; check the legal footer for your region

About AvaTrade

AvaTrade was founded in 2006 and is headquartered in Dublin. It is regulated by the Central Bank of Ireland, ASIC, Japan's FSA, South Africa's FSCA and the BVI FSC, and offers CFDs and FX options on its own app, WebTrader, MetaTrader 4 and 5 and the AvaSocial copy-trading app.

About FP Markets

FP Markets keeps it to two accounts. Standard is commission-free from 1.0 pips; Raw prices from 0.0 pips with US$3 per lot per side. Both open from US$100, both run ECN pricing, and both offer leverage up to 1:500 where the local entity allows it.

More comparisons

Pick any two brokers

How this page is put together. Both columns use the same fields as the individual reviews, read from each broker's own site. Some links are affiliate links, which may earn Cubie FX a commission at no extra cost to you. Placement is not for sale and nothing here is ranked.